Skip to main content
Available in EnglishEspañol

Tenth Meeting of The Presiding Officers of the Committee on South-South Cooperation

18 March 2021|Event

The tenth meeting of the Presiding Officers of the Committee on South-South Cooperation was held virtually on 18 March 2021, within the framework of the fourth meeting of the Forum of the Countries of Latin America and the Caribbean on Sustainable Development.


The meeting was attended by representatives of the following member countries in their capacity as Presiding Officers of the Committee: Argentina, Costa Rica, Cuba, Jamaica, Mexico and Peru.
Representatives of the following States members of the Commission also participated: Bahamas, Belize, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador,
El Salvador, France, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay.
The following associate members of the Commission were also represented: British Virgin Islands and Montserrat.
Also in attendance were representatives of the following intergovernmental organization: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Chair and Vice-Chairs

At the thirty-eighth session of ECLAC, the countries listed below had been elected to serve as the Presiding Officers of the Committee on South-South Cooperation in Latin America and the Caribbean:
Chair: Costa Rica
Vice-Chairs: Argentina, Cuba, Jamaica, Mexico and Peru


1. Adoption of the agenda
2. Challenges and opportunities for South-South and triangular cooperation in the context of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic
3. A strategy for cooperation for middle-income countries
4. Action lines of the Committee on South-South Cooperation for the period 2021–2022
5. Adoption of agreements